Interested in Children’s Books?

Then join us in celebrating great children’s literature by discussing the CILIP Carnegie and Greenaway prize shortlists for 2016.

The CILIP Carnegie Medal is awarded by children’s librarians for an outstanding book for children and young people.  The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal is awarded by children’s librarians for an outstanding book in terms of illustration for children and young people.”

( accessed 25/2/16)

Below is just a selection of the past winners from recent years; all available to read from the School Resources Collection in the Library.

Patrick Ness’ A Monster calls (illustrated by Jim Kay) won both awards in 2012, and Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book was nominated on the short list for both, (his illustrator was Chris Riddell) and won the Carnegie medal (2010).  Last year Buffalo Soldier by Tanya Landman and Shackleton’s Journey by William Grill won the Carnegie and Greenaway respectively.

Carnegie and Greenaway 2
Recent Greenaway Winners


Carnegie and Greenaway 3
Recent Carnegie Winners

Want to know more about the awards, including the selection criteria, teaching resources and past winners? Here is the homepage:

The longlists have been announced and there are some fantastic titles on them. As soon as the shortlist comes out we will be posting a starter review each week which will give a flavour of a book and raise some discussion questions. If you’d like to write a review for either a book on the Carnegie or the Greenaway short lists please get in touch with the library or email.